1st Woosehill Scout Group was founded in 1981 and comprises six sections that meet at our Headquarters in Chestnut Avenue, Woosehill.

2 Beaver Colonies (ages 6 – 8) Swifts Tuesday
Kingfishers Wednesday
2 Cub Packs (ages 8 – 10 ½) Kestrels Monday
Hawks Wednesday
2 Scout Troops (10 ½ – 14) Merlins Monday
Buzzards Thursday

An Explorer Scout section (ages 14 – 18) also uses our HQ.

1st Woosehill Scout Group is one of a number of groups that make up Wokingham District Scouts.  We are a registered charity (Charity No. 801523).

Many of our volunteers are parents but we welcome help from outside the Group too. We offer flexible volunteering opportunities depending on how much time you can spare. If you would like to volunteer at 1st Woosehill please Volunteer Here.

The Leadership Team

Each section has a trained, warranted leader (authorised by the Scout Association) and usually at least one assistant leader, who are responsible for the weekly programme and all associated activities within their section. Their programmes are part of the Balanced Programme for 6 to 25 year olds, outlined by the Scout Association. Helpers move on and continually need to be replaced, so please consider Joining our Team.

Group Management Team
Group Scout Leader (GSL) Amanda Parker
Assistant Group Scout Leader (AGSL) Currently vacant
Group Administrator Nicky Roberts
Beaver Scout Leader (BSL) – Swifts Emily Mason
Beaver Scout Leader (BSL) – Kingfishers Tracey Griffiths
Cub Scout Leader (CSL) – Kestrels Martina Smith
Cub Scout Leader (CSL) – Hawks Steve Gray
Scout Leader (SL) – Merlins Fiona Fairhead
Scout Leader (SL) – Buzzards Andy Newman

Executive Committee

The Committee supports the Group in delivering high-quality scouting in Woosehill. 1st Woosehill Scout Group is a charity and members of the Committee are the trustees of the Group. They contribute different skills and come from a variety of backgrounds. They are responsible for the finances, safety, insurance, building and grounds maintenance, equipment, and fundraising. Members are elected by parents, leaders and the Committee at the Group’s Annual General Meeting in the summer term. If you would like to help, please get in touch.

The Group Executive Committee
Chair Nicky Roberts
Secretary Sarah Dempster
Treasurer Stuart Faria
Hall Booking co-ordinator Steve Kelly
Quartermaster Mark McGurk
Maintenance Martin Bishop
Fundraising Faye Andrews
Group Scout Leader Amanda Parker
Assistant Group Scout Leader Currently vacant
Group Administrator Nicky Roberts
Section Leaders (See table above)